North Carolina Board of Nursing


Nurse Licensure Compact

Information for Applicants

Nurse Licensure CompactThe North Carolina Board of Nursing implemented the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) effective July 1, 2000. Nurses with a multi-state license are granted the privilege to practice in 24 NLC participating states.

You must not hold a current license, nor declare another primary state of residence in a compact state.

You are not eligible for licensure in North Carolina if your Primary State of Residence is currently another Compact State. Here are the compact states that apply; ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, COLORADO, DELAWARE, IDAHO, IOWA, KENTUCKY, MAINE, MARYLAND, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, NORTH DAKOTA, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VIRGINIA, and WISCONSIN

Related Links

Contact information