North Carolina Board of Nursing

Licensure/Listing

Renewal/Reinstatement

Renewal Requirements

Renewal for RN and LPN

All applications MUST be submitted on-line.

Your NC nursing license expires at midnight on the last day of your birth month. Renewal notification postcards are mailed 3 months prior to the expiration date to the last known address on Board records.

Requirements to renew:

If you have been charged or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor or have any charges pending whatsoever (which have NOT been previously reported to the Board); or if you have any charges or actions against any professional license (which have NOT been previously reported to the Board), submission of additional documents will be required before your license renewal can be processed. Click here for additional information.

You must have the following information to apply:

  • Your Social Security number
  • Your NC license certificate number
  • Your birth month
  • Valid credit or debit card-MasterCard or Visa or Checking or Savings Account (renewal fee: $92)

To renew your license, proceed to the application start page.

Licenses are valid for two (2) years. The North Carolina Board of Nursing no longer issues the wallet size license card or mails notification that your license has been renewed. Instead, please verify your license status online at www.ncbon.com.

The Board of Nursing’s electronic database serves the primary source of licensure information for nurses in North Carolina.