North Carolina Board of Nursing

Licensure/Listing

Renewal/Reinstatement

FAQ - Renewal / Reinstatement

  1. I have not received my renewal postcard notification. What should I do?

  2. How long will my renewed license be effective?

  3. What if I want to place my license on inactive/retired nurse status?

  4. Are Continuing Education hours required for renewal of my license?

  5. What if I have had a Misdemeanor or Felony since my last renewal?

  6. What if I have had action in another state since my last renewal?

  7. What if I have had disciplinary action or investigation(s) by another professional or occupational licensing authority?

  8. What if I need to change my name?

  9. How will I know when my license has been renewed?

  1. I have not received my renewal postcard notification. What should I do?

    Postcard notifications are mailed 90 days prior to the expiration of your current license to the last address on Board records. You may renew your license via our website under the Renewal / Reinstatement section.

  2. How long will my renewed license be effective?

    Licenses expire on your birth month. On-time renewal of licensure will be for two (2) years and will expire the last day of your birth month. For initial licensure or reinstatement of a lapsed license, licensure may be for less than two (2) years in order to place the expiration on the birth month.

    You can verify your licensure status, including the expiration date, via our website under the Verify License link.

  3. What if I want to place my license on inactive/retired nurse status?

    You may select the inactive status, when your license is up for renewal, via our website under Request Inactive Status. Once a license expires it cannot be placed on inactive status; therefore, the request for inactive must be made prior to the expiration date of the current license. NO FEE IS REQUIRED.

    If licensed as both an LPN and RN, you may wish to consider placing your LPN license on the inactive status. The inactive status does not permit the practice of nursing in North Carolina.

    If retired, you also have the option of placing your license on the retired nurse status when your license is up for renewal. This status may be selected via our website under Request Retired Nurse Status.

    There is a one-time $30 fee for the Retired Nurse Status.

    The retired nurse status allows a nurse to use the designation of either Registered Nurse-Retired or Licensed Practical Nurse – Retired. The nurse receives a frameable certificate with this designation as well as a two-year subscription to the Bulletin. The retired nurse status does not permit the practice of nursing in North Carolina.

    Once a license expires it cannot be placed on retired nurse status; therefore, the request must be made prior to the expiration date of the current license.

  4. Are Continuing Education hours required for renewal of my license?

    CONTINUING COMPETENCE RULE (21 NCAC 36.0232) FOR NORTH CAROLINA REGISTERED NURSES (RNs) AND LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSES (LPNs)

    Effective July 1, 2008, and thereafter, upon application for license renewal or reinstatement, all licensees are required to attest to completion of a self assessment of their practice, development of a learning plan, and completion of one of the approved learning activity options during the preceding renewal cycle or prior to reinstatement of license. Licensees should be prepared to submit evidence of completion if selected for audit by the Board. Failure of a licensee to meet the requirements of this Rule shall result in disciplinary action pursuant to G.S. 90-171.37 and 21 NCAC 36.0217.

    Effective July 1, 2011, licenses will no longer be issued before Continuing Competence (CC) requirements are met. Any nurse unable to demonstrate that he/she has met the CC requirements will have his/her license placed on inactive status, and will not be able to practice until compliance with the CC requirements is met and the license is returned to active status.

    * Approved learning activity options, details about the NC Nursing Continuing Competence Rule and explanatory [T1] materials are available here. The Continuing Competence Coordinator is also available to answer your questions at tammy@ncbon.com or at 919-782-3211 ext 281.

  5. What if I have had a Misdemeanor or Felony since my last renewal?

    If you are renewing/reinstating your license, and you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony since you’ve last renewed (including DWIs), or have had any charges pending whatsoever since you’ve last renewed, that have NOT been previously reported to the NC Board of Nursing, the following items MUST be received in our office before your application can be processed:

    1. A written detailed explanation describing each incident and the facts that led to the conviction/charge.
    2. CERTIFIED copy of the charge(s) and conviction(s).
    3. Evidence the conditions of the conviction(s) have been met.

    Contact the county clerk in the jurisdiction where each conviction occurred for a certified copy of the conviction(s).

    Submit these items to:

    RENEWAL DEPARTMENT
    NC Board of Nursing
    PO Box 2129
    Raleigh NC 27602-2129.

    Additional processing time may be required.

  6. What if I have had action in another state since my last renewal?

    If you are renewing/reinstating your license and you have had, or now have pending, any action against a nursing license issued to you by another state (including revocation, suspension, restriction, probation, reprimand, censure, participation in an alternative chemical dependency program in lieu of disciplinary action, or any other disciplinary proceedings) that has NOT been previously reported to the NC Board of Nursing, the following MUST be received in our office before your application can be processed:

    1. A detailed written explanation of the circumstances related to the charges, what action was taken, and in which state(s)/province(s).

    Submit this explanation to:

    RENEWAL DEPARTMENT
    NC Board of Nursing
    PO Box 2129
    Raleigh NC 27602-2129.

    Additional processing time may be required.

  7. What if I have had disciplinary action or investigation(s) by another professional or occupational licensing authority?

    If you are renewing/reinstating your license and another professional or occupational licensing authority has taken disciplinary action or has an ongoing investigation with possible pending action, the following MUST be submitted:

    The names, address and contact information of the licensing authority that has an investigation pending or ongoing related to your license; or, pending disciplinary action against your license; or, has taken action against your license, and a letter explaining the background of the action taken or the results of the investigation.

    Additionally, SUBMIT certified records of:

    1. Formal charges or allegations supporting the licensure action;
    2. Final disposition of the licensing authority regarding those formal charges or allegations; and
    3. Evidence that the conditions of the licensing authority's order or requirements have been met or what conditions remain to be satisfied and how much time remains within which to satisfy them, if any. If no time remains and conditions remain unsatisfied, so state.

    Submit these items to:

    RENEWAL DEPARTMENT
    NC Board of Nursing
    PO Box 2129
    Raleigh, NC 27602-2129

    If you have you ever had any licensing authority in any state, jurisdiction, or country deny, limit, suspend, probate, revoke or otherwise discipline any professional or occupational license, certificate, nurse aide registration or multistate privilege to practice, the following MUST be received in our office before your application can be processed:

    1. Written detailed explanation of each action including dates of action.
    2. License Type and State or Country of license.
    3. CERTIFIED copies of all actions taken by the licensing Board.

    Submit these items to:

    RENEWAL DEPARTMENT
    NC Board of Nursing
    PO Box 2129
    Raleigh NC 27602-2129

  8. What if I need to change my name?

    If you need to change your name, you must complete a Name and Address Change form and either mail or fax this completed form and the supporting document* to our office. To obtain the necessary form, see the Name and Address Changes section.

    *Examples of a supporting legal document include social security card, court record, birth certificate, marriage license, driver's license, etc. Do not submit the original document.

    Allow 72 hours upon receipt in our office for the name change to be processed in our system.

    The mailing address is:

    NC Board of Nursing
    PO Box 2129
    Raleigh NC 27602-2129.

    The fax number is: (919) 781-9461.

    Send all documents to the attention of CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    If your license is up for renewal and you have a name change, you may update your name either prior to renewing your license or immediately after you renew your license.

  9. How will I know when my license has been renewed?

    The North Carolina Board of Nursing no longer issues the wallet size license card or mails notification that your license has been renewed/reinstated. Instead, please verify your licensure here.

    The Board of Nursing's electronic database serves as the primary source of licensure information for nurses in North Carolina.