

Midwifery Joint Committee

of the

State of North Carolina

June 24, 2025

In Re: Midwifery Joint Committee's Extension of Temporary Waivers during the State of Emergency initially declared by Governor Cooper in response to Hurricane Helene.

On September 25, 2024, Governor Roy Cooper declared a State of Emergency due to the impact of Hurricane Helene. Pursuant to the North Carolina Disaster Declaration Number FEMA-4827-DR, the following counties or territories in Western North Carolina were identified:

Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Clay, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey Counties and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians.

The Midwifery Joint Committee (the "Committee") regulates the practice of Certified Nurse Midwives pursuant to Article 10A of the General Statutes. The Legislature and the Governor's Office have extended the State of Emergency following Hurricane Helene on multiple occasions. Therefore, the Committee extends all waivers issued by the Committee currently in effect until the State of Emergency is lifted. The waivers currently in effect are posted in their entirety on the Board of Nursing's website at Hurricane Helene | Emergency Waivers | North Carolina Board of Nursing.

This, the 24th day of June 2025.

Stephanie Godfrey, CNM

Chair of the Midwifery Joint Committee of the State of North Carolina