Apply
Printer-Friendly Version

Request Inactive or Retired Status

Request Inactive or Retired Status

How to submit...

  1. Access the Nurse Gateway to complete the Request Inactive Status application or Request Retired Status application
  2. Select your license
    1. Your license includes your license type (RN Permanent License or LPN Permanent License), license number, expiration date, and license status. 
  3. Select 'Request Inactive Status' or 'Request Retired Status' in the Applications tab
  4. Complete application

Fee Information: Inactive Status--There is no fee for this process; $30.00 (Retired Nurse Status)

FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE

Valid Forms of Payment

  • Credit or Debit Card; MasterCard or Visa only
  • Electronic Check (E-Check)*
    • *Per N.C.G.S. 25-3-506, a $35.00 processing fee will be charged for a Electronic Check (E-Check) on which payment has been refused by the payor bank because of insufficient funds or because the drawer did not have an account at that bank.

Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse

  • You currently hold an active license in North Carolina
  • Your current license is within 90 days of the expiration date
  • Your license must be unencumbered

Nurse Gateway

Request Active Status

  • You must complete the reinstatement application
  • Prior to reinstatement, a Criminal Background Check is required for all applicants who have not held a North Carolina license for six (6) months or more. The Criminal Background Check packet is mailed to the nurse upon receipt of the reinstatement application. The fingerprinting must be performed by a Law Enforcement Official. The fee for the background check is submitted to the Board along with the completed fingerprint card.
  • In addition, upon application for reinstatement, all applicants are required to attest to completion of a self assessment, learning plan, and one of the approved learning activity options during the two year period prior to reinstatement.
  • If your license is inactive for five (5) years or longer, you will be required to take a Board-Approved Refresher Course or provide evidence of active licensure in another state or jurisdiction within the five (5) years prior to reinstatement. Upon completion of the reinstatement application, you will be instructed to submit evidence of licensure in another state or jurisdiction or evidence of successful completion of a Board-Approved Refresher Course.
  • If your North Carolina license has been on Inactive Status or Retired Status for over five years and you have not been licensed in another state during the last five years, successful completion of a Board-approved refresher course is required prior to reinstating your license. The refresher course will satisfy the Continuing Competence requirement. When all required information and applications are received from you, a current license to resume the practice of nursing will be issued. Your license must be reactivated within one year of completing the refresher course in order to be considered for current license status. The Board may decline to reactivate a license if a determination of unsatisfactory ability to practice nursing is evident.

  • Once the Board of Nursing receives all materials for reactivation of a license, a minimum of six weeks processing time may be required.
Last Changed 11-Aug-2020

North Carolina Board of Nursing

Protect the public by regulating the practice of nursing.
Sitemap

Copyright © 2020
North Carolina Board of Nursing
All rights reserved

Terms of Service Privacy Policy

Contact Information

(919) 782-3211
(919) 781-9461
8 a.m.-5 p.m., Mon-Fri
North Carolina Board of Nursing